Slacking Off

Well, technically I’m not slacking off, because technically what’s been going on for the past forty-eight hours isn’t my fault.  I clicked on a link in Twitter a couple of nights ago and have been playing Helen of Troy ever since.

Yes, I have been fighting Trojans for the past forty-eight hours.   I’d like to say I’m winning but, alas, I am not.  Those Trojans, you see, seem to grow exponentially, and my fighting skills are simply not equal to the task.

Thus I am forced to endure this odious, ancient relic, until I am able to get my beaten and battered friend into hands that are more skilled than mine.  I knew it was a mistake to use that hammer…

Okay, so I picked up a computer virus that morphed into a computer pandemic.  Now I’m stuck on a computer that’s not a whole lot faster than the 486 I was suckered into buying fourteen years ago.  Yes, they saw me coming.  I’m fairly sure it was an antique by the time I took it home.

So…

I may or may not be online much over the next several days.  Of course this would happen near a weekend, so there’s not much I can do until Monday.  Hopefully my computer guy will have everything up and running, virus free, by Friday.  Hope so because, while the 486 might have seemed like Star Trek technology to me back then, I know the difference now.  And I hate slow computers!

Two things before I go watch the dust accumulate (because it accumulates faster than this computer works)…

Be careful on Twitter.  Just because someone is on your friend list doesn’t mean you know them.   Make sure you trust the person before you click a link.

And this last thing…

To those people who come up with Trojan horse (and other computer) viruses:  May the fleas of 10,000 rats infest your underarms.  May you wind up stuck a couple of thousand miles from civilization with a flat tire,  blown radiator and no spare or cell phone…and mistakenly use poison ivy instead of safer leaf choice when nature calls.

9 Comments

Filed under Romance

9 responses to “Slacking Off

  1. Ugh that stinks! … but on a positive note, I am loving The Daddy Pact! Almost done actually 🙂

    • It does, Karen! I was so annoyed when I realized what had happened. Grr! LOL…I used to be pretty good about getting rid of viruses, but I guess they’re getting more sophisticated. This thing just snowballed to something, and eventually I couldn’t even get online. So I’m having the hard drive wiped and Windows reinstalled. Oh goody. 🙂

      I’m glad you’re enjoying the book. I always worry because I keep my stuff G-rated. And not everyone likes that. But it was a decision I made when I realized if my work was ever published, my dad would read it, lol.

  2. O.M.G. I LOVE your wish to the virus creators. I am totally going to use that…wahahahaha!! Priceless…
    Viruses suck! Here’s hoping yours gets a nice overhaul and repair and is home safe, sound, and good as new soon enough.
    Get better soon Kristy’s computer! 🙂

  3. Thanks, Natalie! I’m pretty creative when it comes to bad wishes for bad people. LOL…I’ll have a character in a book someday who will drown in a septic tank, which is the first thing that came to mind when my youngest daughter’s first boyfriend broke up with her about six weeks ago. Can’t drown him, so I’ll base a character on him. 🙂

  4. Poison ivy–YES.

    Sympathy to you in your computer trials and tribulations, Kristy!

  5. 🙂

    I like the poison ivy idea, too. Serve them right. I wouldn’t really ‘hurt’ them, but it might drive them as crazy as this Trojan drove me!

    And thanks. Talked with my computer guy this afternoon and will hopefully have it dealt with before the week is over. I can hardly wait. The one I’m using now is better than nothing but that’s about all I can say for it. 🙂

  6. I agree with Natalie – awesome wish! I have been getting a lot of links sent directly to me lately from people I don’t even know. I won’t touch them. It’s a dangerous world out there. But I do have a pretty awesome anti-virus and anti-malware protection program in place having been down that road too many times in the past.

    I am having an Internet Explorer issue right now since WordPress made their changes. I’m all a mess. We can cry in our coffee together. Or cuss at it. I’m good either way. 😀

  7. Thank you! I don’t have kind thoughts toward people who infect my computer, lol. I’m very careful, too. I use Firefox instead of IE because my computer tech cousin recommends it. Plus I use Avast (at his recommendation) because it has a ‘bar’ system. Green bars mean the site is safe, yellow bars mean it’s NOT, and gray means a site hasn’t been rated yet. I also use Superantispyware and Malwarebytes, so I don’t often have a problem. This came about because I clicked on a Twitter link for a blog. At least I’m 99% sure that’s where it came from. That’s when the problems started anyway.

    Personally, I think coffee AND cussing can be a great way to relieve stress when computer problems crop up. I do try not to swear (unsuccessfully most of the time), but this is one of those times where it actually feels good. 🙂

    Hope you solve your IE problems. But I would recommend Firefox and Avast. I love the bar rating system. 🙂

Leave a Reply

